What is with the wanting what we don’t have feeling….

Ok, so I’m all about the realities and hardships of being a mother as well as all the blessings and tender moments too. What I am observing while reading across the Internet is this popular bitch fest and selfish fest on being a mother. Popular meaning I see it way more than the blessings and tender moments. Does everyone really like such negativity on such a constant basis?

Reality shows, the news, TV shows, movies, and books are always more popular if it has drama, lust, and murder. Why? Now is this funneling into being a mother, and if so what are we betraying? If a  new mother is in a very frustrated and exhausted moment and searches for support to only find more articles on how hard it is to be a mother and you deserve to have that “mommy” time, will she then learn it’s ok to be selfish, and turn it into all the time?

Believe me when I when I say I have daydreamed about not being a mom and have taken a few moments to regroup, but I don’t think it is right to glamorize these feelings. This glamorization leads to the “it’s ok” to feel this way about being a mother. “It’s ok to want to runaway, it’s ok to hate the job of being a mother, it’s ok to be angry at yourself for having children, it’s ok to want to give up and sit an have a drink”…..well it’s not ok because being a mother is the highest level job anyone could ever be given and with this job comes the giving of yourself first and always. I think that is why we all sit down and search for help from some source when we do have a bad day in hopes of being uplifted or understood.

It is not ok to put yourself first and foremost as a mother, but it is understandable the desire to want to, for a short time. And as a community of mother’s I think we need to glamorize the support of the “I know how you feel, now how can I help” not how much I don’t want to be a mother and all of us jumping in with our daydreams of what it was like before.

Before I was a mother I could sleep as late as I wanted, go out when I wanted,  and only had to care about me. However, I was lonely and began to feel like my life was loosing purpose.

Now that I am a mother all I wish for are those days to sleep in, go out to eat without worrying what the kids are going to do at the table, and not forget about me. However, I am given love on a constant basis and see my own smile in the faces I created.

That being said….why do we (people) always want what we don’t have….why not be glad with what we do have….even if they are the offspring of Satan on certain days and angels from the Lord above on others!

Leave a comment